AT YOUR SERVICE

 

Seeing Eye 1“They showed me how to put the harness on the dog, and we started down the road. As my legs stretched out and my shoulders went back and my head went up and the wind blew in my face, I knew I had my independence.” –Morris Frank. Co-Founder of The Seeing Eye®-

The Seeing Eye was co-founded by Morris Frank and Dorothy Harrison Eustis in 1929. It is the oldest guide dog school in the world, and the only one with a copyright on the term “Seeing Eye Dogs”. In the last 87 years, it has provided over 16,000 canine partners to people who are blind or visually impaired.

Seeing Eye Dogs have been members of wedding parties.Jay Dunan cropped (2)

.They have been a part of beauty pageantsSeeing Eye pageant and wedding (2)

They have been on-stage at concerts.guide dog at concert

They provided new-found independence to human partners far and wide.

“As long as I can walk I’ll have a Seeing eye dog. I’m 80-years old and I still walk 2 miles just about every day, even in the winter. On a good day, no ice or snow, we can do 3 miles in 35 minutes. One of these years, maybe, I’ll slow down. Net yet, though!” –Dr. Louise Leotta-

The Seeing Eye is supported solely by donations from individuals, corporations, and foundations. For more information on this organization and how to help put miracles in motion, visit www.SeeingEye.org.

At the same time, check out all of the wonderful items available at The Seeing Eye’s Annual Online auction at https://www.biddingforgood.com/auction/auctionhome.action?auctionId=251749270

For more information on the founding of The Seeing Eye, see “Happy Birthday Seeing Eye” in our archives. And visit this blog later this month for inspiring stories of individuals and their canine partners.

One thought on “AT YOUR SERVICE

  1. Lin, it was great!!! I enjoyed reading it, of course I love those DOGS they are beautiful!!!!

Comments are closed.